Salted Caramel Cake Pops

Who doesn’t love salted caramel? These cake pops are wonderful and are a great way to use left over cupcakes or cake!

 

I used 18 vanilla cupcakes I had frozen (you can freeze uniced cupcakes for up to 4 months!). I let them thaw and then crumbled them into small crumbs. 

Next, I mixed about 3/4 to 1 cup of buttercream ( I used homemade but store bought works fine of course) and 1/2 a cup of caramel syrup. I used the sundae syrup but homemade would taste even greater! I mixed this into the cake until I got the consistency I wanted. Roll them into balls and place on wax paper. Freeze for about ten minutes. 

Melt chocolate with a little bit of oil in a double boiler. If using sticks, dip the ends into chocolate and stick into the cake balls. Freeze for another 5 minutes. Using the melted chocolate (I used Hershey’s milk chocolate but dark or white would work) coat each cake ball and set back on wax paper. Freeze until hardened. 

To decorate, I spooned a little bit of white chocolate onto the top of each pop, drizzled some caramel, and sprinkled each with sea salt. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

